The Professional Manager of the Year Award in Engineering and Technology recognizes outstanding achievements in the area of engineering and technology within the public works field and to inspire excellence, leadership, and dedication to the public good.


Any APWA member whose primary responsibility is management of public works engineering and/or technology-related activities is eligible. Members of the APWA Board of Directors are not eligible during the time they serve on the Board. APWA Engineering and Technology Committee members are not eligible during the time they serve on the committee.

Career Length—Candidates with a minimum of 10 years qualifying experience may be nominated.

Employment—Candidates may be employed in either the public or private sector; however, career service must be in the field of public works, specifically in the area of engineering and technology.

Scope—Candidates must manage a diverse engineering and technology service delivery program characterized by creative engineering activities with a record of developing/utilizing/leveraging technology.


The award winner is selected by the Professional Manager and Snow and Ice Award Committee.


Candidates must address the following specific criteria, which will be evaluated in the selection process.

Profession—Significant contributions to the advancement of engineering and technology management.

Leadership—Outstanding leadership and vision evidenced by employing progressive management techniques in the area of engineering and technology management.

Innovation—Employment of new and innovative ideas and technology resulting in the advancement of effective engineering and technology operations.

Employment Achievement—Implementation of effective methods to optimize management of engineering and technology operations.

Customer Service—Evidence of a high degree of satisfaction among customers and other stakeholders.

Community Service—Promotion of the field of engineering and technology management in the community, agency, or customers served.

Sustainability—Support the advancement of sustainable contributions in public works.

Nomination Process

Any group, individual, or governmental entity may nominate candidates. Nominations are particularly encouraged from APWA chapters and branches. Self-nominations are not accepted. Nomination of a candidate is limited to one Professional Manager of the Year Award per year. Submittal should include a nomination form and supporting documentation that clearly addresses the eligibility requirements and the candidate’s professional work.


March 4, 2024, 11:59 p.m. Eastern time; electronic submittals only.


The winner is presented with a plaque at the Awards Recognition Ceremony during PWX and featured in APWA publications.

Award Winners

John Livsey, PE, Town Engineer, Town of Lexington, MA

Brian Simmons, PE, Principal Engineer, Bolton & Menk, Inc. Chaska, MN

Jeremy Cox, Utilities Administrator, City of Woodland, CA

David Field, PE, Director of Public Works, Easton, MA

Paul J. Pasko, III, PE, Principal, Project Manager, Short Elliott Hendrickson, Inc., Minnetonka, MN

Alexander K. Bardow, PE, Director of Bridges and Structures, Massachusetts Department of Transportation, Boston, MA

Timothy Clougherty, Deputy Public Works Director, City of Manchester, NH

Edward “Ed” Roberge, PE, City Engineer, City of Concord, NH

Jon Nelson, PE, Engineer of Traffic, Lake County Division of Transportation, Libertyville, IL

John E. (Jay) Corey, Jr., PE, City Engineer, City of Woburn, MA

Russell “Reid” Penland, Supervising Land Surveyor, Alameda County, CA

Jason Snyder, PE, Senior Project Manager, RETTEW Associates, Lancaster, PA

Mark Maloney, PE, Director of Public Works/City Engineer, City of Shoreview, MN

Bradford “Brad” Henry, PE, Master’s Degree Instructor, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN