To recognize outstanding and meritorious achievement of individuals for their work in delivering educational opportunities for all levels of individuals engaged in the delivery of public works services as well as assisting in the areas of continuing and graduate professional education for public works professionals.


This award recognizes individuals who are APWA members.


The Awards Committee reviews the nominations and selects the award winners.


Applications should address the following specific criteria, which will be evaluated in the selection process.

  • Identify accomplishments in education programs—provide specific information related to the accomplishments that attest to the nominee’s positive impact in the area of continuing education and/or graduate professional programs for public works professionals at all levels
  • Describe the educational challenges and approach—provide detailed information on the originality and approach utilized to create educational programs for continuing and/or graduate professional programs. (If a published document of the program was created, it may be included as an appendix.)

Nomination Process

Individual candidates must be nominated by a member or chapter of APWA. Submissions are limited to ten pages. The ten pages do not include a letter of introduction from the chapter/nominator.


March 4, 2024, 11:59 p.m. Eastern time; electronic submittals only. 


The award winners are presented with a plaque at the Awards Recognition Ceremony during PWX and are featured in APWA publications.

Award Winners

In 2023 the Donald C. Stone Award for Excellence in Education was changed to the Excellence in Education Award.

Edward A. Gottko, Adjunct Professor, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Marilee Enus, Director Technology Transfer Center, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH

New England Chapter – Public Works Awareness Committee 

John German, PE, Curriculum Director, APWA Texas Chapter, Public Works Institute of Texas

Christopher Ahmadjian, PE, MBA, PhD., Associate Director, UMass Transportation Center, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA

Chicago Metro Chapter – City Branch

James B. Martin, PE, Associate Director, ITRE; Director, NC LTAP, ITRE/North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC

Donna Shea, Program Director, Connecticut T2 Center, University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT

Minnesota Chapter

New England Chapter

James H. Grothaus, PE, Senior Director of Technical Assistance and Customized Training, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN

Scott A. Smith, PE, LS, Senior Design/Construction Project Manager, Norfolk Public Works, City of Norfolk, VA

San Diego-Imperial Counties Chapter

Matt Dolan, Public Works Operations Specialist, City of West Des Moines, IA Texas Chapter, Rio Grande Valley Branch

Ann Johnson, PE, Director, Construction Management Program, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN

Kansas City Metro Chapter

Tom Collins, Deputy Director of Public Works, Town of Natick, MA Kathleen Schaefer, CTAP Instructor, Minnesota DOT

Philip Kuchler, PE, CFM, Senior Civil Engineer, City of Warrenville, IL