The APWA Excellence in Snow and Ice Control Award was established to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works snow and ice operations, and to promote the best practices in snow and ice removal while minimizing environmental impacts.


Any public works agency actively involved in snow and ice removal and operations is eligible to apply. Public works is defined as the physical structures and facilities that are developed, owned, and maintained by public agencies to house governmental functions and provide water, power, waste disposal, transportation, and similar public services, in accordance with established public policy. APWA membership is not required. No sitting member of the subcommittee or the member’s respective agency shall be eligible for the award.

No previous award winner shall be considered for a repeat award for a period less than five years. All previous award winners will need to clearly demonstrate and will be judged on the continuous improvement of their snow and ice control program as it relates to improvements in technology, equipment, and service since they received their last award.


The award winner(s) is selected by the Professional Manager and Snow and Ice Award Committee.


The nomination should address each category in the order shown below and expand with detailed information to explain the agency’s programs and accomplishments. The agency should include and expand on any sustainable program or solutions for each category as well. Agencies that do not have programs in all of the categories listed are encouraged to apply, noting accomplishments in all the categories applicable, and stating if they do or do not have a certain program in place.

Please note: Supporting documentation is limited to 20 pages, exclusive of photographs. When possible, please provide high-resolution color photographs in jpg format. APWA will use these images for promotional purposes.


  1. Materials/Handling
    • Salt/chemical handling and storage
    • Facilities
    • Tanks
    • Types of materials
    • Containment
    • Excellence in storage award
  2. Equipment
    • Improvements and upgrades/maintenance
    • Customization
    • Innovative custom innovations
    • Anti-ice applications
    • Preparedness/storage
    • Computer controlled dispensary systems
  3. Training
    • Written plans
    • Documented manuals and presentation
    • Custom programs – in-house/outside
  4. Community Outreach
    • Agency education and involvement
    • Commercials/social media
    • Website
    • Mailings/brochures
    • School outreach
  5. Technical
    • RWIS
    • GIS
    • GPS or AVL
    • Material and plow tracking/documentation
  6. Environmental
    • Alternative-use chemicals
    • Inhibitors
    • Protection of sensitive areas
    • Maintenance yards
    • Vegetation

Nomination Process

Nominations can be made by the managing public agency or APWA chapters. Submittal should include supporting documentation, limited to 20 pages, that clearly addresses the categories outlined above.


December 4, 2023, 11:59 p.m. Eastern time; electronic submittals only. Winner(s) will be announced in February 2024.


The award winner(s) is presented with a plaque at the North American Snow Conference and featured in APWA publications.

Award Winners

City of Atlanta, GA

City of Kansas City, MO

Town of Orangetown, NY

Town of Windsor, CO

City of Dickinson, ND, Street Department

City of Evanston, IL

City of Lawrence, KS

City of Lincoln, NE, Transportation & Utilities

Village of Schaumburg, IL

City of Columbus, OH

Illinois Tollway

Town of Wellesley, MA

City of Cudahy, WI

Franklin County Engineers Office, Columbus, OH

Village of Hoffman Estates, IL

City of Omaha, NE

City of Surrey, BC

Village of Niles, IL, PWD

City of Manchester, NH, Department of Public Works

City of Milwaukee, WI, Department of Public Works

City of River Falls, WI, Public Works Department

Lake County Division of Transportation, Libertyville, IL

Village of Mount Prospect, IL, Public Works Department

City of Columbia, MO

City of Montgomery, OH

City of Longmont, CO, Public Works & Natural Resources

Town of Orangetown Highway Department, Orangeburg, NY

Village of Buffalo Grove, IL, Public Works Department

City of Columbus, OH

City of Lenexa, KS

City of Waconia, MN

City of Bettendorf, IA

City of Bloomington, MN

City of Council Bluffs, IA

City of Green Bay, WI, Public Works Department

City of Novi, MI, Department of Public Services

Ohio DOT

City of Ankeny, IA, Public Works Department

City of Overland Park, KS, Public Works Department