This award recognizes achievements at the chapter level that support APWA’s strategic plan, goals, and objectives through dedicated and longstanding contributions to the chapter.


Individual, (public or private sector), corporate or public agency candidates must be members of APWA. An individual member candidate can be a public or private sector member. Corporate or public agency candidates must be corporate or public agency members of APWA.


The Awards Committee reviews the nominations and selects the award winners within each category of individual, corporate and public agency.


Selection is based upon consistent contributions or activities by the individual, corporate, or public agency candidate within their respective APWA chapters resulting in the enhancement of the chapter or the effectiveness of the services provided to its membership or the community on behalf of the chapter and APWA.

  • Describe the nominee’s record of consistent and committed service to a chapter—provide detailed information related to the leadership positions and contributions within the chapter
  • Explain the nominee’s positive impact on the chapter—provide specific examples that resulted in enhancements or effectiveness of the chapter
  • Highlight nominee’s value to the community—provide specific examples related to the nominee’s chapter involvement that added significant value to the overall community.

Nomination Process

Candidates must be nominated by chapters. Submissions are limited to ten pages. The ten pages do not include a letter of introduction from the chapter.


March 4, 2024 11:59 p.m. Eastern time; electronic submittals only. 


The award winners are presented with a plaque at the Awards Recognition Ceremony during PWX and are featured in APWA publications.

Award Winners

In 2023, The Harry S. Swearingen Award for Outstanding Chapter Achievement and Excellence in Chapter Service was changed to Outstanding Chapter Achievement and Excellence in Chapter Service Award.

Richard Keeney, PWLF, Retired, Punta Gorda, FL

Metropolitan Council-Environmental Services, Saint Paul, MN

Jeff Mazanec, PE, Senior Consultant, R.A. Smith, Inc., Appleton, WI

Stantec, Minneapolis, MN

Chris Petree, Director of Rochester Operations, Rochester, MN

Rock Solid Project Solutions, Las Vegas, NV

Joy Guinn, FSMPS, CPSM, Partner, Principal, Guinn Consulting Engineers, Reno, NV

BETA Group, Inc., Lincoln, RI

Richard P. Merson, Director of Public Works, Town of Needham, MA

Missouri Petroleum Products Co., LLC, St. Louis, MO

Jeannine Clancy, Assistant General Manager, Technical Services, Metropolitan Council Environmental Services, St. Paul, MN

WSB & Associates, Inc., Minneapolis, MN

Vic Bianes, Assistant Transportation Director, City of San Diego, CA

Raquel Shohet Floyd, EIT, PSP, Vice President, Hill International, Las Vegas, NV

Angela Popenhagen, PE, LEED AP, President, Stevens Engineers, Hudson, WI

Bolton & Menk, Inc., Mankato, MN

Augie Chang, Vice President, Psomas, San Diego, California

Lee Gustafson, PE, Director of Engineering, City of Minnetonka, MN

Short Elliott Hendrickson, Inc., St. Paul, MN

Shahnawaz Ahmad, PE, PWLF, President, SA Associates, Arcadia, CA

Mio Johnson, Manager Engineering Division, Anchorage Municipal Light & Power, Anchorage, AK

Woolpert, Inc., Columbia, SC

Mark T. Juliano, Public Works Director (retired), Palm Coast, FL

HDR Engineering, Charlotte, NC

James C. Coppola, Senior Vice President, BETA Group, Inc., Lincoln, RI