To recognize and encourage young APWA members who have demonstrated an initial commitment to the profession and the association and show potential for future growth within the association. The award promotes the concept that length of career does not necessarily indicate leadership abilities or potential for service.


Myron Calkins served as APWA President in 1970-71 and was elected Chapter President of both the Washington State and Kansas City Metro Chapters. In addition to serving as National President, Calkins served as President of the Public Works Historical Society, chaired the Awards Review Committee, and served on the Editorial Advisory Board for the APWA Reporter. He received the Presidential Leadership Award in 2007.


Candidates must be members of APWA in good standing for five consecutive years and not exceed 35 years of age as of the deadline of the award submittal. Please include candidate’s birth date in nomination materials. The candidates must have demonstrated an ability and eagerness to act at the chapter or branch level and/or national by serving on committees, as an officer, heading projects, participating in programs, or contributing in general to the well-being of the chapter.


The Awards Committee reviews the nominations and selects one or more award winner(s).


Applications should address the following specific criteria, which will be evaluated in the selection process:

  • Describe significant contributions to the nominee’s employer—provide specific examples where the nominee implemented new ideas, overcame problems, controlled costs, etc.
  • Identify the nominee’s leadership roles—provide specific examples where the nominee helped to advance the cause of the public works profession either with leadership commitments to significant community projects, as an advocate for public works issues at the legislative level in local, state, or federal governments, or chapter leadership. Provide information on awards received
  • Demonstrate an ongoing commitment to continuing education in the public works field (i.e., related educational degree(s), attendance at workshops, seminars, or CEU credits, etc.)—provide specific examples of continuing education completed or classes led by the nominee
  • Explain the commitment to advancing sustainability—provide specific information related to the nominee’s involvement in promoting sustainability within the profession.

Nomination Process

Nominations may be made by a chapter, APWA entity, or individual APWA members. Submissions are limited to ten pages. The ten pages do not include a letter of introduction from the chapter/nominator.


March 4, 2024, 11:59 p.m. Eastern time; electronic submittals only. 


Winners will receive a check for $500 and be presented with a plaque at the Awards Recognition Ceremony during PWX; they may also be featured in APWA Publications.

Award Winners

In 2017, the Young Leader Award was changed to the Myron Calkins Young Leader of the Year Award.

Tiffany Engelhardt, Corporate Services Director, Engineering Resources Associates, Warrenville, IL

Leslie Donnelly, PE, Street Preservation Project Manager, City of Olathe, KS

Francis “Frank” Marinaccio, PE, Project Manager, BETA Group, Lincoln, RI

Becky Bonebrake, PE, Senior Civil Engineer, City of Overland Park, KS

Kati Horner Gonzalez, PE, Assistant Director of Engineering/City Engineer, City of Independence, MO

Steven Ireland, PE, Project Manager, Las Vegas Paving Corp., Las Vegas, NV

Daniel “Scott” Goforth, PE, Transportation Project Manager, HDR Engineering, Inc., St. Louis, MO

Joline McFarlane, Operations Programs Coordinator, City of Airdrie, Alberta

Ryan Petersen, Inspection Manager, Charleston County Public Works Department, North Charleston, SC

Mark Ray, PE, Director of Public Works, City of Crystal, MN

Lauren Behm, Management Analyst, Pierce County Public Works, Tacoma, WA

Frank Lopez, PE, QSD, CFM, Director, Harris & Associates, Salinas, CA

Paul “Andrew” Parker, Assistant Public Works Director, City of Dalton, GA

Amanda Millirons, MPA, Assistant Public Works Director, City of Palm Bay, FL

Sean O’Dell, PE, Infrastructure Department Manager, Baxter & Woodman, Inc., Mokena, IL

Christopher Gallagher, Deputy Director of Public Works, Town of Westwood, MA

Therese Mersmann, PE, Capital Projects and Development Manager, City of Olathe, KS

Charles R. “Chas” Jordan, Management Analyst III, City of Largo, FL

Christopher J. Petree, Public Works Director, City of Lakeville, MN

Bill Stogsdill, Director of Public Works, City of Fairway, KS